Answered

How to opt a lead into a specific subscription (opt-in) via Zapier?

Ok, on my website (I'm using Webflow and their forms), I have a newsletter opt-in. I am using Intercom to manage all of this, so then I need to use Zapier to connect the two.

The only option I get in Zapier around email subscription is "Unsubscribed From Emails", which I mark as False. The only thing is, I have an "Opt-in" subscription type, and Intercom doesn't auto-add this type, only the opt-out ones.

Is there any way to Opt-in to these without physically going into each contact and clicking the box?

icon

Best answer by Zak 12 October 2022, 06:59

View original

21 replies

Badge +1

So at the moment Zapier is limited by what is available within the Intercom API, and then within that what they choose to implement (there are many things you can do with the API that are not in Zapier).

However, fortunately Zapier does have a webhook/api model which will allow you to send API commands which will greatly extend your capabilities to automate things with Intercom. (might depend on your plan).

If you're new to making API commands I promise it's not too tricky, kinda like riding a bicycle once you understand them fundamentally it's easy to figure it out for all apps.

So right now, Intercoms API is on version 2.5 and the Attach a Contact request under the Subscription model only supports the opt_out functionality right now.

imageHowever, the Unstable v0 API does support opt_in:

If you create a new app within the developer portal you can change the API to any version, and you can select v0.

You can then use the List all Subscription Types request to find the IDs of all the subscriptions you have, and then get the ID for the one you want. From there you can use the Attach a Contact request in an API request within Zapier to perform this step instead.